Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Where do you do your cutting? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/where-do-you-do-your-cutting-t176696.html)

turner0106 01-23-2012 12:50 PM

Where do you do your cutting?

I am new to quilting. I cut my first quilt out yesterday using a rotary cutter. However, it was not the most comfortable place to cut. So I was curious where all of you cut at and how comfortable it is?

Thanks
Diane

Linda1 01-23-2012 12:53 PM

I have a small kitchen table in my sewing room that is built up on blocks of wood. Before I got this table I did it on the kitchen counter. I can't stay bent over a table for long. My 65 year old back can't take it. LOL

ckcowl 01-23-2012 12:55 PM

so...where did you do your cutting that was uncomfortable?
i cut all of my fabrics in my sewing room on my cutting table. it is not necessarily uncomfortable- not sure what the problem was-
it is important to use a table that is the correct height for you though- and never try to use your rotory cutter while sitting down- you should be standing at your cutting table.
there are videos and tutorials about proper ergonomics in the sewing room- you may need to check them out-
just do a search for sewing room ergonomics.

Lynnie25 01-23-2012 01:01 PM

I do all my cutting on the kitchen counter too, it is just the right height and my big cutting mat fits perfectly on it. I also have my sewing machine permanently set up in the dining room right alongside my kitchen counter so have the perfect set up.

3incollege 01-23-2012 01:01 PM

I use a cutting that I got from JoAnn's if you use a dining table or a banquet table you can use bed risers to give the right height.

karenpatrick 01-23-2012 01:07 PM

I use a 3' X 8' banquet table.

turner0106 01-23-2012 01:10 PM