Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Where do you do your cutting?

Where do you do your cutting?

I am new to quilting. I cut my first quilt out yesterday using a rotary cutter. However, it was not the most comfortable place to cut. So I was curious where all of you cut at and how comfortable it is?

Thanks
    Diane

I have a small kitchen table in my sewing room that is built up on blocks of wood. Before I got this table I did it on the kitchen counter. I can't stay bent over a table for long. My 65 year old back can't take it. LOL

Blog Entries
    so...where did you do your cutting that was uncomfortable?
    i cut all of my fabrics in my sewing room on my cutting table. it is not necessarily uncomfortable- not sure what the problem was-
    it is important to use a table that is the correct height for you though- and never try to use your rotory cutter while sitting down- you should be standing at your cutting table.
    there are videos and tutorials about proper ergonomics in the sewing room- you may need to check them out-
    just do a search for sewing room ergonomics.
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

I do all my cutting on the kitchen counter too, it is just the right height and my big cutting mat fits perfectly on it. I also have my sewing machine permanently set up in the dining room right alongside my kitchen counter so have the perfect set up.
    QB Albums: Lynnie25's Quilts; Selvedge Quilts; Lyn's Dolls Quilt Swap Quilts

I use a cutting that I got from JoAnn's if you use a dining table or a banquet table you can use bed risers to give the right height.
    Donna

I use a 3' X 8' banquet table.