Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Question about fusing circles

  1. #1
    Super Member quiltingfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Antonio Texas
    Posts
    1,021
    Blog Entries
    1

    Question about fusing circles

    Do I have too use a stabilizer if I am doing circles? or is that just a suggestion?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Thornton, Colorado
    Posts
    667
    If you are fusing a circle to a background or to a block, whatever you use for fusing should work well as a stabilizer, too, such as Wonder Under and so on.

  3. #3
    Super Member sewbeadit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    3,075
    Hi, are you asking if you want to put circles on your square do you have to do it with fusible interfacing? No you don't. You can do it which ever way you want, applique by hand, applique by machine, you don't have to have an interfacing to do it. Using fusibles is really easy to do however.
    Sewbeadit
    W. Washington

  4. #4
    Super Member quiltingfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Antonio Texas
    Posts
    1,021
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by sewbeadit View Post
    Hi, are you asking if you want to put circles on your square do you have to do it with fusible interfacing? No you don't. You can do it which ever way you want, applique by hand, applique by machine, you don't have to have an interfacing to do it. Using fusibles is really easy to do however.
    I don't have any interfacing and don't really want to wait to go buy it. That is why I was asking. Thanks I will get busy on finishing the never ending quilt. Just want to get it done already.

  5. #5
    Super Member luvTooQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    A Hop from Heaven, a Skip from Sanity and a Jump from the Good Life....
    Posts
    7,122
    Blog Entries
    1
    you can always use 'icky' fabric as stabilizer..

    For example I have some super thin flimsy see thru fabric that i would not trust in a block, however I used my go circle die cutter.. layed right side (good fab) to right side (icky fab) and cut.. i sewed all the way around the edge- 1/4 inch... and slit a hole in the icky fabric and 'birthed' the circle.. Now i have a clean edge to applique..

  6. #6
    Super Member quiltingfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Antonio Texas
    Posts
    1,021
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by luvTooQuilt View Post
    you can always use 'icky' fabric as stabilizer..

    For example I have some super thin flimsy see thru fabric that i would not trust in a block, however I used my go circle die cutter.. layed right side (good fab) to right side (icky fab) and cut.. i sewed all the way around the edge- 1/4 inch... and slit a hole in the icky fabric and 'birthed' the circle.. Now i have a clean edge to applique..
    Thanks for the suggestion. Will do a couple of blocks and see how they come out, I am in a "anything to get this top done" I am sick and tired of blues..

  7. #7
    Super Member mary quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ga
    Posts
    1,400
    Go to HGTV and put " Easy Circle Quilt Blocks " in search box and watch the video I love this method .

  8. #8
    Super Member fayzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Destin, Fl
    Posts
    1,831
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by luvTooQuilt View Post
    you can always use 'icky' fabric as stabilizer..

    For example I have some super thin flimsy see thru fabric that i would not trust in a block, however I used my go circle die cutter.. layed right side (good fab) to right side (icky fab) and cut.. i sewed all the way around the edge- 1/4 inch... and slit a hole in the icky fabric and 'birthed' the circle.. Now i have a clean edge to applique..
    I was very interested in this post as I have to put circles on my batik top when it is finished. I did not want to do raw edge applique so this "birthing" method sounds like it will work better on this modern quilt pattern.

  9. #9
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,615
    I'm going to use the same method (using a different fabric as a stabilizer & birthing the circle) on my batik strip quilt, too. I wanted a nice clean edge, and feel the extra bit of fabric on each circle is going to make it stand out just a tiny bit more again the batik strips, besides being easier to applique onto the quilt top....I am probably going to add a small piece of batting, too, so that the quilting on those circles adds a bit to the quilt top in texture and interest.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.