Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilt Show Entry Advise >

Quilt Show Entry Advise

Quilt Show Entry Advise

Old 07-06-2014, 01:12 PM

Default Quilt Show Entry Advise

I have been quilting for about 10 years. I have become confident in my skills and would like to enter my dresden plate quilt in an upcoming quilt show. I used 30's fabric for the quilt.

I have decided to incorporate various appliqued flowers on a 6-1/2" white border. I have never done applique before and decided to use fusible web in sewing my leaves, stems and flowers. I then turned them right side out and used invisible thread and used an appliqué stitch to stitch them to the white border.

Now I am wondering if I should be hand stitching them to the border. What will I be judged on and would this quilt be eligible for any type of ribbon doing the technique I am using. I think needle turn applique is beautiful on a wall type quilt. Is this technique used on a quilt that will be washed and used?

I really need some advise. Should I continue the technique I am presently using or start over by hand stitching the flowers to my border?

Any and all advise would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails image.jpg   image.jpg   image.jpg  

Last edited by KathyC9511; 07-06-2014 at 01:25 PM.
Old 07-06-2014, 01:15 PM

I wouldn't know what they judge an entry on, but your quilt is lovely. Good luck. Mary
Old 07-06-2014, 01:19 PM

Location: Piedmont Virginia in the Foothills of the Blue Ridge Mtns.

Your applique looks fine to me. It's a very sweet quilt that will appeal to many show attendees.
Is the show you wish to enter a judged show? Not all are, you know. And some that are, have categories that are NOT judged. You may be worried for no reason.
Old 07-06-2014, 01:24 PM

Originally Posted by Jan in VA View Post
Your applique looks fine to me. It's a very sweet quilt that will appeal to many show attendees.