Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Quilting with a Bernina 1530 or Brother SE400 >

Quilting with a Bernina 1530 or Brother SE400

Quilting with a Bernina 1530 or Brother SE400

Old 01-06-2012, 07:21 AM

Default Quilting with a Bernina 1530 or Brother SE400

Hello, I am new to machine sewing and am interesting mostly in Quilting Art, free-motion quilting. I just got a new Brother SE400 for Christmas and I also now have my MIL's Bernina 1530. I know she took excellent care of it and was an avid dressmaker/seamstress. I am wondering how that machine would be for free-motion quilting? It has not been used in about 4 years but has been stored in its case in the house. I am wondering if I should even keep it since the computer boards aren't made anymore. Maybe I should sell it while there is still a market for it, but I know it is a "classic" machine and maybe I should just keep it as a spare or use it instead of the Brother? I'm guessing I need to have it cleaned before use since it has been idle. Thank you for your suggestions and experience with this machine!
Old 01-06-2012, 07:27 AM
kso

Do a sample on ea machine and see which one has the best stitch quality and is the easiest to use. I would keep the Bernina for a spare.
Old 01-06-2012, 08:03 AM
Power Poster

I am not familiar with that Bernina but the feet for my Bernina are about $50 each. I don't know if all the feet are interchangeable with all machines but keep that in mind. I know the new 820 or 830 use different feet and bobbins? Check out the eBay listing of machines similar to yours to get an approx. value before selling. If it is in good working order, I would keep it for a backup machine.
Old 01-06-2012, 08:05 AM

I would use the Bernina!
Old 01-06-2012, 03:24 PM