Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Quilting on top of appliqued pieces in a quilt

  1. #11
    lin
    lin is offline
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,053
    Hi Pam

    I don't know what you used but I've used some brands that were stickier than others. I've had good luck with Heat-n-Bond LITE (NOT the regular...that's a nightmare! LOL) and I use a top-stitch needle when working on bonded applique. I love the top-stitch needle (standard point 18/110) for this and for working on heavier fabrics such as flannel.
    I've never noticed my needle gumming up when I use the LITE and I go a little slower in these sections and haven't had much trouble with skipped stitches or tension issuses. Good luck! :)

    Not long ago, I accidentally used my regular Heat-n-Bond on a baby quilt, and wound up having to do the applique quilting by hand...using a larger, stronger needle and a big stitch. It was just awful!! I'll never make that mistake again. :oops:

  2. #12
    Super Member Pam Pollock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Beavercreek, OR
    Posts
    1,381
    Hi Carla & thanks for the welcome. I certainly like the idea of the needle not getting sticky to begin with. Maybe someone out there with experience in quilting on machine applique can suggest a different type of fusable web. I purchased the fusable web off a bolt & will have to go take a look to see which brand it is. I am all for easy quilting with no hitches in my stitches :lol:

    Pam

  3. #13

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    7
    I'm a little late with this, but you may be using the wrong type of applique film. Some are made for sewing over, and some aren't. Personally, I like the Steam-a-Seam brand. I have never quilted over appliques, but have done the buttonhole stitch around them after I have put them on with Steam-a-Seam and have never had a problem with skipped stitches or with gummy needles. Just carefully follow the directions and I don't think you will have anymore problems. Good luck!!

  4. #14
    Super Member Pam Pollock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Beavercreek, OR
    Posts
    1,381
    Never too late for good advice. I didn't use Steam-a-Seam brand but I will certainly try that on the next applique quilt I do. I have a couple of applique quilts in mind but they are still out a little ways on my to do list. Thanks for the advice!! Good advice is always very much appreciated!

    Pam

  5. #15
    Suz
    Suz is offline
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Central PA
    Posts
    1,258
    My thoughts!!! How many layers of fabric are we talking about? Did you fuse the first layer and than add more layers? This would mean lots of fusible.

    I hand applique and when there are multiple layers, I keep cutting away from the back side and just leave the seam allowance. Sometimes I cut as many as four times depending on the size of the pieces being appliqued.

    You could do a similar thing by planning and cutting away extra fusible and leave just the "rim" to fuse. Another idea would be to use lots of spray starch on the pieces to be fused and forget the fusible.

    Suzanne

  6. #16
    Super Member Pam Pollock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Beavercreek, OR
    Posts
    1,381
    Hi Suz,

    I only quilted through one layer of fusible. I originally hadn't planned to quilt them but didn't like the way they looked with out the quilting. I like both your ideas. I will jot those ideas down in my "helpful hints" notebook. thanks!

    Pam

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.