Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: spacing question

Senior Member Sarah in Brooklyn's Avatar

spacing question

I've started quilting a baby quilt, and because I'm a rank amateur, I've decided to just to quilt random wavy lines along the length of the blanket. I think it will suit the pattern fine, but what I'm wondering about is if there's rule of thumb for how close sew the lines. Is 2-3" apart too much space between lines?

I am sure others will come along, and have much better info than I do, but I think the real deciding factor is your batting. I THINK most batting packaging has the minimum quilting space info on there somewhere. As I understand it, if you don't quilt close enough for the batting you use, it MAY fall apart when washed. HTH... Faye

scrappingfaye58 is correct - look at the spec sheet for your batting. There should be guide lines for quilting on that. After you find that number - as long as you are no further apart than that - go for it.
    Betty

A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.

http://notesfrommoosehaven.blogspot.com

Yep, the batting determines the spacing. Remember that is also more of a circumferencial measure - width and height - and not a one dimensional measure.

ali
    Have fun quilting! If it isn't fun, you will miss a lot.
    ali

you need to read your batting package- some need to be quilted every 2" some allow up to 10" between quilting lines- and everything in between. also the distance needs to be in both directions- if you simply make *tunnels* the batting can separate-pull apart in there will be areas with none & areas with gobs- if the batting says quilt every 4" there should be a 4" square of quilting lines- closer is ok- wider is not good.