Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Thread Weight -When to use 40 versus 50 >

Thread Weight -When to use 40 versus 50

Thread Weight -When to use 40 versus 50

Old 03-24-2016, 06:28 AM

Default Thread Weight -When to use 40 versus 50

I am a newbie to machine quilting and I am overwhelmed by all the choices of threads and weights. What thread weight should I be using for my machine piecing? domestic machine quilting? and for sewing on the binding?

Thank you in advance for your help
Old 03-24-2016, 06:32 AM
Power Poster

It really does depend on your machine. My older Bernina doesn't like when I use less expensive thread so I just recently started using Aurifil 50 for piecing, quilting and machine stitching binding.
Old 03-24-2016, 07:01 AM

I use 50wt for piecing & sewing on the binding. You could use either a 40 or 50wt for the quilting. 40wt is thicker & shows up a bit more so it just depends on whether you want that or not.

Also, if you switch to 40wt thread, be sure to also switch your needle size accordingly. Pretty much all manufacturers tell you the recommended needle size for each weight. I know for Aurifil, 50/2 thread can take a 70/10 or an 80/12 needle. Aurifil 40/2 takes an 80/12 needle. Aurifil 28/2 (the heaviest thread you can run through a machine) takes a 90/14 needle.
Old 03-24-2016, 07:15 AM
Power Poster

Thread weight is a personal choice and often depends on the 'look' you are after. The only time I use 40 weight is when I want to really emphasize the quilting stitches. I often use 60 or 70 for quilting as I really like to see the texture rather than the quilting thread. I use 60 for piecing.
If you do decide to change the weight of thread you use for piecing, remember to check your seam allowance, as thread thickness may affect it:
http://www.quiltingboard.com/tutoria...ce-t89997.html
I attach almost all my bindings by machine and just use whatever weight & color matches the binding best.