Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Transferring quilting designs to blocks for FMQ >

Transferring quilting designs to blocks for FMQ

Transferring quilting designs to blocks for FMQ

Old 01-19-2015, 05:13 AM

Default Transferring quilting designs to blocks for FMQ

Hi,

I'm new to quilting but not to sewing. I've chosen to do a Tennessee Waltz pattern that will have 9" snowball blocks, and will want to quilt a lovely pattern in each one. Do I need to purchase a plastic stencil or can I use another method to transfer guidelines? (I am making a practice book of FMQ designs, but will still want to mark the actual blocks...) TIA
Old 01-19-2015, 05:56 AM
Power Poster

There are numerous methods to put designs on the quilt top.
1.Golden thread paper that you draw a design on and stitch through it on the sandwich.
2.Tissue paper that you draw a design on and pin to the sandwich to stitch through (or staple several squares together and stitch the design with an unthreaded needle to make several copies)
3.Buy a stencil and use a pounce and powder to mark the sandwich.
4.Trace your design on Glad Press and Seal with a sharpie and stitch through it. ( make sure the sharpie is dry before using or colour can get on the quilt.)
5.Draw the design on with .....Crayola washable markers, air or water temporary fabric markers, Frixion pens that the lines erase with the iron(sometimes bleaches dark fabric) WITH ANY MARKING METHOD-TEST FIRST ON SCRAPS BEFORE MARKING YOUR TOP.
6.My favourite for medium to dark fabric, WHITE chalkboard chalk that can be remove with a damp cloth. I
use a makeup sharpener to get a nice point.
[ATTACH=CONFIG]506763[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails image.jpg  
Old 01-19-2015, 04:24 PM

Great answer Tartan, comprehensive list of options!
Old 01-20-2015, 12:47 PM

Thanks for a great list!
Old 01-20-2015, 01:00 PM

I like blue water-erase pens for light cloth the best; just make sure you rinse it thoroughly before ironing or you can "set" the marks.