Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Viking Husvarna SE Embroidery Machine - Dongle

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Lake Havasu Arizona
    Posts
    81

    Viking Husvarna SE Embroidery Machine - Dongle

    Has anyone purchased a secondhand Viking Husvarna SE and not been able to connect it to the computer or visa versa?? The machine has been registered to the new owner but my friend is having trouble getting it to accept even a design which is on a stick. It will embroidery the already installed designs but will not accept new designs. Thanks for your input.
    Never Drive Faster Than your Guardian Angel Can Fly

  2. #2
    Member Sewfree's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Queen Creek, AZ
    Posts
    16
    I have an SE, love it to death, and I know there could be several different issues at work here. I would suggest that your friend search for the Viking SE Yahoo group and join that. There are so many knowledgeable people who are so helpful on that group and I'm sure she can get the help she needs from them. Good luck and I'm sure she will love that machine and since there's so many great features available on it, it does have a learning curve and the Yahoo group has tons of info in their archives also to help.

  3. #3
    Member sewweary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    67
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have the designer se also. It is my understanding the dongle is for 4d and 5d programs. I have all of my designs
    on flash drives that connect to the machine. Have not had a problem with any. I dont load my flash to full as it takes a while for the machine to upload the designs. I hope this helps.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    3,599
    Blog Entries
    1
    Did she install the software that came with her machine on her pc? I bought my Ruby used and had no problems transfering designs back and forth. I did need to go online and do an update but I was able to connect before that. Do you have a local dealer in your area or somewhere close that you can call? Or you can call Viking. I'd make sure the software is installed first though.
    Judy

  5. #5
    Super Member nabobw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pinellas Park Fl
    Posts
    4,179
    Blog Entries
    6
    the dongle is only for the software. Each version comes with a dongle.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cincinnati OH
    Posts
    79
    Blog Entries
    3
    You will want to go to : DesignerSE@yahoogroups.com , you should be able to find out anything and everything you ever wanted to know. I also have a SE and love it. I did have a problem a few months ago, where the machine wouldn't load designs from my stick. Had to take it to my repairman. Had to have a board replaced. It can be pricy but worth it considering the price of the machine. She is up and running just like a princess. Good luck.
    Sharon/OH

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Norfolk, VA
    Posts
    3,599
    Blog Entries
    1
    One more thing, you said on a stick. Is this the stick (called a dongle) that is made for your machine. You can use just any USB stick,it has to be made for your machine.
    Judy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.