Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Virgin Quilter >

Virgin Quilter

Virgin Quilter

Old 01-05-2016, 10:01 AM

Thumbs up Virgin Quilter

Hello Everybody...

I'm new to quilting and have wanted to start doing it for some time now.
My first task is to take my friend's son's sports jerseys and some images of him as he grew up and make a huge quilt for her to give to him. I read someone suggested a stabilizer for under the jerseys. I'm not sure what that is? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 01-05-2016, 10:12 AM

Hi, welcome to QB and the fabulous hobby (vocation) of quilting. Sorry have no advice as I have never made a jersey quilt. Good luck. Someone will be along shortly with lots of fabulous advice.
Old 01-05-2016, 10:13 AM

A T-shirt quilt is a huge undertaking for a new quilter. My DD made me a quilt using Andrea T. Funk's How to Make a T-Shirt Quilt (not sure that's the correct name of the book.) Check on Amazon under her name. Her method does not use stabilizers. The layout uses a 3" grid, allowing different size patches to be used. I think this makes a more interesting layout than same sized patches.
Attached Thumbnails img_0318.jpg  
Old 01-05-2016, 10:37 AM
Power Poster

Hi and welcome to the board. For a beginner I would HIGHLY recommend using the stabilizer method, or starch the bejeebers out of the jerseys. I meant to the point they are like card stock. Some jersey material is very light weight and may not take kindly to an iron.

A stabilizer or interfacing is an iron on product that you iron on to the back of the t-shirt so it isn't stretchy anymore. JoAnnes carries the name brand Pellon (use the featherweight one) or their own store brand.

http://www.joann.com/pellon-fusible-...FYMbHwod-M4EAg
Old 01-05-2016, 10:52 AM
Power Poster

First thing about quilting, know your fabric. Do you mean jersey as in football jersey or tee shirt? Be very careful doing this for a first time effort. You could damage the jersey fabric.
Old 01-05-2016, 11:00 AM