Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 5 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: walking foot question

walking foot question

hello there,
    looking for opinons.
    I have never used a walking foot before but got one for xmas. works great on longer runs or bigger pieces but on 1.5" or 2" pieces I'm thinking its overkill and is not needed. Experiencing some fabrics getting eaten. i tried a leader but still wondering if its not a good use for little pieces. what do you think?
    still a real novice and working up my nerve to try some smaller piecing that really requies some precision.

are you trying to quilt (sandwiched with backing & batting) 1 1/2" & 2" pieces of fabric????
    the walking foot is generally used for straight line quilting on sandwiched pieces- it walks along on the thicker layers- where a regular foot may cause puckering/pulling. some people use their walking foot for the bindings too-again multiple layers.
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

hmmm. interesting. i thought it was for 1/4 inch seams. that edge that is on it must be a regulator instead of some sort. thanks for explaining!

Blog Entries
    i usually don't use mine to piece. just to quilt. i use my 1/4 foot to piece. and binding i may use the 1/4 foot or another or even the walking foot.

Quote Originally Posted by malindaann View Post
    hmmm. interesting. i thought it was for 1/4 inch seams. that edge that is on it must be a regulator instead of some sort. thanks for explaining!
    Just out of curiosity, what machine do you have? It would be good to see the foot you are using.

I don't use my walking foot to piece, but I do use it to sew on borders, bindings and to quilt straight lines. If I have rows of blocks to piece together, I'll use it for that too.