Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Wash/not wash BATIK JELLY ROLL! >

Wash/not wash BATIK JELLY ROLL!

Wash/not wash BATIK JELLY ROLL!

Old 01-18-2011, 12:26 PM

Okay... I'm in a quandary. I've never used a JR before... and was gifted with one that's all batiks. Nice. Hot pinks and royal blues! So I want to use the blue strips in a blue and white nautical looking quilt (reserve the pinks for another quilt-centers for a flower log cabin).

THEN, when reading the 'how to use the jelly roll' instructions in the pattern book, it says... "DO NOT WASH" the jelly roll.

Well... omg. Don't I HAVE to? I cannot put a deep royal blue batik on a white batik background and not have the sucker run should I ever wash the top. (And of course, I will have to at some point!). Batiks bleed like crazy! Even the dye grabbers don't catch it all.

Maybe I can soak them carefully? Or wash them on delicate, putting them in lingerie zippered mesh bags? (Yes, I understand that I wash one fabric, gotta wash them all.)

Why don't you wash JRs? Is it that the fabric, being so small, will shred/run, tangle and mangle? Or is the problem the shrinking?

Help!
Old 01-18-2011, 12:30 PM

There was a topic on this the other day. Not specific to JRs but there were folks who said that they don't wash their JRs.

I've never used them, but they seem almost too small to wash. Good luck.

http://www.quiltingboard.com/t-90748-1.htm
Old 01-18-2011, 12:30 PM
Power Poster

The problem with washing is that it will probably not be 2 1/2" after it is washed and dried.
Old 01-18-2011, 12:34 PM

I sure would not wash pieces that small, maybe soak them but I hear so many people say their batiks bleed, I've used a LOT of them and never had any problems, I am a prewasher but I always look in the washer to see if anything is causing problems.

I think you would have to just soak them and let them hang to dry because of the narrow width of the fabric.