Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
washing fabric >

washing fabric

washing fabric

Old 03-07-2010, 09:57 AM

I washed a red fabric that I was going to use in a block exchange . I washed in wash basin in hot water then warm water 8!!! times and the water is still pink. Do I just throw this material away? I have never used a red before and I never wash my fabric before quilting with it. I think I just made a new rule.
Old 03-07-2010, 10:08 AM
Power Poster

You can probably set this color by washing in Retayne. Retayne is sold in some quilt shops and online at places like Dharma Trading and ProChem.

The reason the red keeps bleeding is because the dye was not set correctly in the factory. Usually one or two washings in Retayne will set the dye.

The other reason dye bleeds is because the fabric is over-saturated with dye (more dye than the fabric can absorb). That is the case with fabric that stops bleeding after one or two regular washes. Your is the other case -- dye not properly set.
Old 03-07-2010, 10:14 AM

Thank you so much. I will get on line right now and order some. I really like the fabric. I bought this fabric from a friend who's sister passed, so I'm not sure where the fabric came from.
Old 03-07-2010, 11:23 AM

I feel your pain and am so sorry about the problem. I just went through this myself with a dk Indigo color. After many washings & 2 treatments with Retayne, then 2 washings using the Color Catcher Sheets, it was safe to use. I had to get it to stop bleeding because there was quite a bit of cream color to be in the quilt as well. I love Retayne. And this was expensive Quilt Shop fabric. Good Luck. Bet the Retayne solves your problem.
Old 03-07-2010, 11:40 AM