Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What is a good price for fabric? >

What is a good price for fabric?

What is a good price for fabric?

Old 09-24-2011, 01:19 PM

Hello everyone,
I am new to quilting and sewing in general. I have been watching different sites such as etsy for scraps and fat quarters, yardage, etc (and I am learning the terminology hehe).

I never know what is a good price for fabric... so... does anyone have any general guidelines for fabric cost... especially when purchasing fat quarters and charms... or even jelly rolls, basically any precuts... what is a general good base price to look at?

Thanks
Edie
Old 09-24-2011, 01:36 PM
Banned

Calculate the yardage in the precuts and then compare with the price of fabric by the yard. You will discover there is a "cut" charge built in.
Fabric in quilt shops is now selling for $10-$12 per yd
So probably any price less than this is a good price.
However, check the quality if much less.
There are shops that sell for less and quality is good

I posted a request for suggestions for reasonably priced fabric. Search for that posting.

Many shops still have fabric at around 7-8$ per yd.
Old 09-24-2011, 01:43 PM

thank you so much.(I tried searching the forums, these forums are huge... takes forever to find anything) :(

The calculating the cost per yard is what I have been doing... so I am on the right track.

And now you have given me some numbers to work with for comparison. thank you :)
Old 09-24-2011, 01:45 PM

Prices vary somewhat by region or in my case by suburb. Question is do I want to drive for over an hour past 5 or 6 other stores to save? I'd probably lose the savings in gasoline.
Check your stores.
Old 09-24-2011, 01:55 PM

My WalMart has fabric priced low..... $3.00 a yd. Watch it!