Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Why Wool and wool felt? >

Why Wool and wool felt?

Why Wool and wool felt?

Old 12-29-2016, 11:58 AM

Default Why Wool and wool felt?

I enjoy embellishing wall hangings and small quilts etc., however, I'm not very good at embroidery. I signed up to take a monthly embroidery class to hone my skills. I just got the supply list and you need wool scraps and wool felt. Why does the fabric and felt need to be wool. I know wool felt is quite a bit more expensive than craft felt and I hate to buy wool even in fat quarters as I don't know that I will ever use the rest. I sew with cotton fabric. Who would be apt to have wool scraps, garment sewers? I'm not sure if I should cancel the class or not - oh what to do????
Old 12-29-2016, 12:00 PM

Check your thrift stores, Goodwill, etc. for "older" men's suit coats, ladies skirts and trousers, blazers, vests, etc. Make sure you check the fiber contents as many times wool is mixed with nylon and other fibers. With "older" clothing, you can still find 100% wool. It is much, much cheaper to buy wool this way. Just my 2 cents...
Old 12-29-2016, 12:04 PM

It looks & feels really luxurious. That said, I've substituted out the fake felt from JAF & cotton fabric. I don't buy the craft felt squares. I buy the stuff on the bolt. The craft squares tend to be so thin you can see through to the fabric underneath.

Primitive Gatherings (https://www.primitivegatherings.us/s...tch-chart.html) sells wool scrap bags for $25/bag, or 2 bags for $40.
Old 12-29-2016, 02:00 PM
Power Poster

Felted wool can be used raw edge since it doesn't fray. It also tends to be brighter and vibrant. If it is just a few wool appliques, you could do regular needle turn applique if the pieces are not too intricate.
Old 12-29-2016, 02:03 PM

I make felted pin cushions, and I get some of my wool from Goodwill - old clothing. Saves money and the variety is amazing. How much do you need in total? Good luck.
Old 12-29-2016, 03:30 PM