Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Pictures
Estate sale finds >

Estate sale finds

Estate sale finds

Old 08-27-2010, 07:11 PM

I went to an estate sale today and had to buy the whole bag of fabric, they wouldn't sell them by piece...so I've got a lot of poly cottons that I won't use in quilts but there were a few pieces in the bag that I'm rather excited about.

The first piece is what I think is a 5 yard piece of silk. It was packaged separately in a plastic baggie. I'm not a silk expert, so maybe someone could tell me. At first I thought it was hideous, but I have to say it's grown on me!

The next 3 photos are of a 4 yard piece of Asian, cotton fabric. I think it's very cool. All of the fabrics are probably 70's and 80's fabrics. I'm loving the Japanese one.

Here's the back side to show the weave of the fabric
[ATTACH=CONFIG]105965[/ATTACH]

Here it is...
[ATTACH=CONFIG]105966[/ATTACH]

And a home dec sampler book full of fabric
[ATTACH=CONFIG]105970[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails attachment-105960.jpe   attachment-105961.jpe   attachment-105962.jpe   attachment-105963.jpe   attachment-105964.jpe  

attachment-105965.jpe  
Old 08-27-2010, 07:15 PM

That is a very neat piece. If it is silk, what do you plan to do with it? I have seen some beautiful quilts made with silk! :D
Old 08-27-2010, 07:24 PM

Originally Posted by Ditter43
That is a very neat piece. If it is silk, what do you plan to do with it? I have seen some beautiful quilts made with silk! :D
I have no idea! I've never sewn with silk before so I'd need tips for sure. I also picked up some fine, wool yardage at this estate sale. I'm going to have to read up on how to use it as well. I have some felted wool pieces I'd like to use.
Old 08-27-2010, 07:26 PM

OOOOOHHHHH! I could see a wholecloth quilt top out of that...
Old 08-27-2010, 07:56 PM

Originally Posted by Tink's Mom
OOOOOHHHHH! I could see a wholecloth quilt top out of that...