Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Family Heirloom Restoration Suggestions

I have two quilts hand sewn by my great-grandmother. My dad has been using them as "rags" in his workshop. I just recently found out about them and acquired them this weekend. Originally there were 5 quilts this is all that remains. I am now wondering what to do with them. I need suggestions. I am still working on my first quilt top so I'm not experienced in quilting (yet!).

I have 4 siblings, do you think I could do something to share with them? Or should I salvage what I have and keep to pass to my kids?

Quilt #1
    Name:  Attachment-157233.jpe
Views: 27
Size:  76.1 KB

Quilt #1
    Name:  Attachment-157234.jpe
Views: 25
Size:  54.5 KB

Quilt #1
    Name:  Attachment-157235.jpe
Views: 27
Size:  60.7 KB

Quilt #2
    Name:  Attachment-157236.jpe
Views: 26
Size:  56.9 KB

Quilt #2
    Name:  Attachment-157237.jpe
Views: 28
Size:  47.7 KB

Quilt #2
    Name:  Attachment-157238.jpe
Views: 30
Size:  57.5 KB

Quilt Police unhappy due to this being a no access quilt.
    Name:  Attachment-157239.jpe
Views: 26
Size:  48.5 KB

Blog Entries
    glad you got to rescue them

omg!! rags???? wow.
    i'm not sure what you should do. maybe keep what is salvagable to make into a wall hanging and pass on to your own grandchildren someday. perhaps add a patch on the back with her name and the years she lived and your name the date stating that you came across it and decided to save it. it looks to be in rough shape but it's still beautiful and definitly not a rag. although i'm sure my father would do the same thing with it.

I don't have any suggestions, but I'm sure glad you rescued them. Before they were used as "rags" they must have been gorgeous. What was your father thinking?