Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Hand Crank machines, Billy your opinion please

  1. #1
    Super Member CoyoteQuilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    2,306
    I was looking at ads for a mid arm quilter and stumbled on an ad on Craigs list with 3 'antique' machines. Now, I am not a collector, but all of you have gotten me interested so I had to go see them. I thought only 1 was a hand crank, but one other one was also. The person selling them used the 'electric' one for a night light.... she was just a collector of antiques and did not know what she had. One is a Davis the other is "Gloria" Vibrating Shuttle. There is not name on the Gloria, but DH was looking it over and found a hidden type drawer in the wooden base. Inside was several feet, 2 shuttle bobbins and the instruction manual! The manual has been soaked in oil at some point and has a few tears, but is complete.
    Attached Images Attached Images          

  2. #2
    Power Poster amma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Out searching for some sunshine :-)
    Posts
    59,111
    Blog Entries
    1
    Oooo how pretty :D:D:D

  3. #3
    Super Member Charlee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    PNW (I wish it was the Ozarks!)
    Posts
    6,510
    Blog Entries
    6
    Beautiful machines!! Did you buy them?

  4. #4
    Super Member virtualbernie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    3,590
    Blog Entries
    3
    I can't get over them using it for a "nightlite". Definitely not a quilter nor seamstress! :lol: :lol: :lol:

  5. #5
    np3
    np3 is offline
    Power Poster np3's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    17,265
    Blog Entries
    7
    So it looks like you bought all three?

  6. #6
    Super Member CoyoteQuilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    2,306
    I only bought the 2 cranks pictured. By the sounds of it this woman had a house full of all types of antiques. These were just 'pretty' to her and she had no idea what they were worth. The electric one I didn't buy was the one she used as a night light... They were on Craig's list for over 2 weeks and nobody even called her about them until I did tonight. She downsized homes and her kids hated all that 'old stuff'!!

  7. #7
    jridner1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    112
    :thumbup: Love them

  8. #8
    Senior Member cizzors's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    560
    So by "Hand Crank", does a person actually crank it the whole time they are making a quilt or does one get the DH to sit there and do it for them? I can just imagine a woman walking around with just one Popeye arm!

  9. #9
    Super Member clem55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lexington,Kentucky
    Posts
    6,155
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by cizzors
    So by "Hand Crank", does a person actually crank it the whole time they are making a quilt or does one get the DH to sit there and do it for them? I can just imagine a woman walking around with just one Popeye arm!
    that is so funny!! I caN'T IMAGINE BEING ABLE TO CRANK AND GUIDE AT THE SAME TIME. My brain wouldn"t work that way.LOL

  10. #10
    Super Member LovingIzabella's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    5,076
    Beautiful machines-is the second one pictured a sphinx decal?
    Hugs
    April

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.