Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Help and opinions, Please.

  1. #1
    Senior Member carolynbb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    small town between Baltimore/Annapolis MD
    Posts
    530
    I made two rag quilts for twin boys age 4. They came out an unusual size. They are 53 X 58 inches. Someone I showed them to thinks I should add a border all around to lengthen them and hide the rag-style edges. Would you do that or leave them as they are? If you think I should add a border, do you hae any suggestions how to go about that? Thanks for looking and offering help/opinions. P.S. I'm a newbie. pic should be attached

    back made with flannel
    Name:  Attachment-230864.jpe
Views: 24
Size:  49.8 KB

    front made with fleece
    Name:  Attachment-230865.jpe
Views: 33
Size:  47.5 KB

    back of the other one
    Name:  Attachment-230866.jpe
Views: 32
Size:  60.4 KB

  2. #2
    Super Member lynnsim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,506
    I did raggy quilt for about 3 years; everyone loved them! I wouldn't do anything to them; for boys that age, seems like a good size. Just my opinion.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Alex J's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Born in NYC, but living in CT
    Posts
    776
    they look great as is, I would not change a thing.

  4. #4
    Super Member cherylynne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,748
    I think that they are perfect cuddle quilts.

  5. #5
    Power Poster alikat110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waco, Texas
    Posts
    15,166
    Blog Entries
    9
    Nice job

    And I like the rag border

  6. #6
    Power Poster blueangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    20,478
    Good job

  7. #7
    Power Poster QuiltE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13,788
    Me-thinks the person who is making the suggestion, doesn't understand what rag quilts are about. I haven't seen any that have been completed with borders, to remove the raggy edges!

    Size wise, I wouldn't think 4 year olds would need one over five feet ... unless these kids mare "growing like weeds". :lol:

  8. #8
    Super Member Stitchnripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    6,238
    I agree with everyone. They seem like they will be perfect for the boys. I wouldn't change anything. They are great, by the way.

  9. #9
    Super Member mary quite contrary's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    2,541
    I think they are perfect! Some people complain if their ice cream is cold so I wouldn't pay attention to them.

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,515
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think the boys will love them. I wouldn't add borders. I like them just the way they are. Good job. :)

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.