Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 61

Thread: Unwanted ads

  1. #21
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,044
    Quote Originally Posted by ArchaicArcane View Post
    Which part fouled up? It's usually a pretty straight forward process...
    The part where you type adblock. I can't find where to do it. I am using FF right now to type this. Don't like to tool bar either.
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, and 4 crazy cats!

  2. #22
    Super Member ArchaicArcane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Central Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    2,855
    The Ad Block is extra credit, I don't think it's mandatory. Did the pop ups stay away?
    Toolbars can be turned off and on on the view menu.
    Tammi - I've found that many baby steps tend to get you further than a huge leap in followed by a huge leap out - http://www.archaicarcane.com
    Singer 411G, 301A, 2x 221 (featherweight), 222k - the holy grail, 15-90 Centennial, 27, VS2, 28 hc, 128 knee bar, 201-2, 31-15, Pfaff 130-6. Non-Vintage - Pfaff 6122, Kenmore (Janome) 385.81595 serger, Kenmore (Janome) 385.81155, 2013 APQS Lucey

  3. #23
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,265
    Blog Entries
    1
    try this-go to this website in the firefox browser.

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/fir.../adblock-plus/

    click on add to firefox

    You may have to subscribe to filters. You can do that after adblock is installed. Just go to the preferences. Tools/adblock plus/preferences.

  4. #24
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,265
    Blog Entries
    1
    Firefox is pretty customizable. When I first switched to it, it was hard to get used to but I did eventually. Now it's my most used browser (I use chrome for some sites).

  5. #25
    Super Member ArchaicArcane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Central Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    2,855
    Good call Gale, As with most computer things, there's more than one way to do everything
    I don't subscribe to any filters, just use Adblock Plus plain and I've never had popups or advertising on the QB while using FF.
    Tammi - I've found that many baby steps tend to get you further than a huge leap in followed by a huge leap out - http://www.archaicarcane.com
    Singer 411G, 301A, 2x 221 (featherweight), 222k - the holy grail, 15-90 Centennial, 27, VS2, 28 hc, 128 knee bar, 201-2, 31-15, Pfaff 130-6. Non-Vintage - Pfaff 6122, Kenmore (Janome) 385.81595 serger, Kenmore (Janome) 385.81155, 2013 APQS Lucey

  6. #26
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,044
    Ok, I downloaded adblock, now what?
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, and 4 crazy cats!

  7. #27
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,265
    Blog Entries
    1
    It should have automatically installed it. You'd have a small stop sign looking icon (mine is on the lower left side of my browser). If you don't see it, try closing and reopening firefox.

  8. #28
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,044
    gale, I don't see it and I even restarted. I see most visited, getting started, bing,http downloads.yahoo and mail
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, and 4 crazy cats!

  9. #29
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,265
    Blog Entries
    1
    Try this. Go to tools/add-ons and a new window will open up. See if adblock plus shows up on that new page. If it's there, and there is a button that says "enable", click on it. You might have to restart firefox after that.

    eta: what you're looking at is your bookmarks bar. The icon for adblock is on the bottom of my browser-not the top.

  10. #30
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,265
    Blog Entries
    1
    Wait, try this. Go to tools and see if adblock is on the tools menu that pops out. If it's not, then it didn't get installed correctly. When you add it from the page I linked you might have to approve the installation.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.