Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 61

Thread: Unwanted ads

  1. #26
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,722
    Ok, I downloaded adblock, now what?
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  2. #27
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,646
    Blog Entries
    1
    It should have automatically installed it. You'd have a small stop sign looking icon (mine is on the lower left side of my browser). If you don't see it, try closing and reopening firefox.

  3. #28
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,722
    gale, I don't see it and I even restarted. I see most visited, getting started, bing,http downloads.yahoo and mail
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  4. #29
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,646
    Blog Entries
    1
    Try this. Go to tools/add-ons and a new window will open up. See if adblock plus shows up on that new page. If it's there, and there is a button that says "enable", click on it. You might have to restart firefox after that.

    eta: what you're looking at is your bookmarks bar. The icon for adblock is on the bottom of my browser-not the top.

  5. #30
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,646
    Blog Entries
    1
    Wait, try this. Go to tools and see if adblock is on the tools menu that pops out. If it's not, then it didn't get installed correctly. When you add it from the page I linked you might have to approve the installation.

  6. #31
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,722
    Quote Originally Posted by gale View Post
    Wait, try this. Go to tools and see if adblock is on the tools menu that pops out. If it's not, then it didn't get installed correctly. When you add it from the page I linked you might have to approve the installation.
    gale, this is what I see.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  7. #32
    Super Member ArchaicArcane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Not Here
    Posts
    3,795
    My FF doesn't show the Ad Block icon either because I don't show the "Add On" toolbar. (View -> Toolbars -> Add-On Bar). I don't get ads though.

    If it's installed, and you're not getting popups, I wouldn't worry about it. Just surf away to your heart's content.

    Tools -> Add-Ons should show the part in red:
    Name:  AddOns.png
Views: 56
Size:  110.9 KB

  8. #33
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,646
    Blog Entries
    1
    If you see ads on this site (not just popups, but any ads), adblock isn't working. Do you see it on your add-ons page like Tammi posted above?

  9. #34
    Super Member nygal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    5,648
    I just had the bleach ad pop up and I am on my iPad. The x got rid of it this time. They are a pain!
    When it seems like the world is falling to pieces remember that the pieces are falling into place. We are nearing closer to the End Times.

  10. #35
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,722
    Quote Originally Posted by gale View Post
    If you see ads on this site (not just popups, but any ads), adblock isn't working. Do you see it on your add-ons page like Tammi posted above?
    I went to that window and it said my avast was disabled so I enabled it. Then I poked around and it said pop up blocked, is that it???? My pc has been running so slow since I downloaded FF, is that normal?

    Also I keep getting a pop up from FF asking if I want to down load internet helper 3.1 and one that says would you like to install the plug in needed to display the media on this page. Should I??
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  11. #36
    Super Member ArchaicArcane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Not Here
    Posts
    3,795
    This is not FireFox that did this. FF is legitimate software. What you're describing is malware or scareware (once they ask for money to fix something or to stop something, it will cross the line from malware to scareware.).

    More likely, a site you went to was infected and avast failed to stop it. This could have happened with Internet explorer / Chrome or FF. unfortunately.

    The general rule of stuff like this is if you didn't ask for the software, don't install or pay for it. Internet helper is NOT good software.

    Pop up blocked may be from Firefox, but I don't think it is. I've never seen that. You still didn't let us know if the Ad Block plus was in that window.

    No, it's not normal to have your PC run slowly because of FF. My FF does run slowly because I have sometimes 70 tabs open, but only FF runs slowly because of that, not the whole PC. The reason your computer is running slow is the malware that's running on it.

    This is something that several sites online can help you remove whatever's on your machine - for free, don't ever pay for it. I could help you if I was closer. Do you have a family member who's good with computers? I wouldn't be shocked to find that it's Search Conduit that you have installed. It's incredibly invasive, and I think it goes without saying that it's "bad" as well.

  12. #37
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,722
    FINALLY!!! I was able to get the Adblock!! YIPPEE! I went and uninstalled a bunch of crap too. (Yes, I checked it all out before uninstalling it.) I don't see the ABP icon on this page tho.
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  13. #38
    Super Member ArchaicArcane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Not Here
    Posts
    3,795
    Good girl! I'd guess it's running a bit better now too?

    As I mentioned in post #32, you won't see it unless the Add-ons toolbar is enabled.

  14. #39
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,722
    Yes, I see it now on the bottom tool bar just above my system tray. How do I move it up to the tool bar?

    BTW, THANK YOU SOOOOOO MUCH for everyone's help in this!
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  15. #40
    Super Member ArchaicArcane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Not Here
    Posts
    3,795
    I don't think you can move it to the top. That said, you really don't need it showing, it will do its job without being there. i would just turn that toolbar off.

    Glad you got it sorted out.

  16. #41
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,722
    Me too, I sure couldn't have done it without help from my friends here!! Thank you!

    I'm going to call my IPS tomorrow to see about changing my email to open in firefox instead of yahoo & IE.
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  17. #42
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,646
    Blog Entries
    1
    You should be able to use whatever browser you want to open your emails. You shouldn't have to call them to change it. Just go to the website in FF instead. Unless you mean links in your email, in which case you just need to set firefox as your default browser.

    As for the adblock bar-I keep mine showing because I disable it sometimes (some log-ins don't work with it on, etc) but it's easy enough to hide and then un-hide it.

  18. #43
    Super Member ArchaicArcane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Not Here
    Posts
    3,795
    This is true. As long as you know the website address for the webmail you can log in using whatever you want.

    Strange, I haven't had any sites that have stopped working as a result of ad block plus. That's a good reason to leave that toolbar enabled then.

    How did you make out today sewnsewer2?

  19. #44
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,722
    Quote Originally Posted by ArchaicArcane View Post
    This is true. As long as you know the website address for the webmail you can log in using whatever you want.

    Strange, I haven't had any sites that have stopped working as a result of ad block plus. That's a good reason to leave that toolbar enabled then.

    How did you make out today sewnsewer2?
    All is good (so far)! Running smooth with no pop ups except for the stealth or what ever it is called when I 1st boot up. Email ads have disappeared also!

    Oh and I even was able to get my emb software downloaded. Now to work on the printer! Don't have time today, I have a class to go to in a little bit.
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  20. #45
    Super Member ArchaicArcane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Not Here
    Posts
    3,795
    Sounds like you still have a little bit of cleanup to do if you're getting popups, especially if they're prior to opening a browser. Otherwise, it's good to hear that you're figuring stuff out.

    Yes, the lack of ads in email is very nice. It sounds like you're using Gmail then for your email?

  21. #46
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,722
    No, still AT&T email but it's 100% better! Yup, it's all good!
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  22. #47
    Super Member ArchaicArcane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Not Here
    Posts
    3,795
    Wow! Your ISP serves you ads? That's pretty rude!
    Glad to hear you're up and running though.

  23. #48
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,722
    No, there was just one wanting me to upgrade to IE9 or something like that, that I couldn't get rid of. It's gone now tho.
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  24. #49
    Super Member ArchaicArcane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Not Here
    Posts
    3,795
    You should be on Internet Explorer 10 by now. IE 8 and 9 have more than a few security issues, which might explain how your stealth popup got there.

    Start - Control Panel - Windows Update
    Click Change Settings
    It should be set to "Install Updates Automatically (recommended)"
    It's not a bad idea to check "Give me recommended updates the same way I receive important updates" either.
    If you want, check "Give me updates for Microsoft products and check for new optional Microsoft software when I update Windows" as well. That will update things like Office, or Streets and trips, etc if you have them.

    Click OK
    Click "Check for Updates"
    Let it search
    Then click on "Install Updates"
    Let it do its thing and it may ask for a reboot at some point.


    Note: Truth or Myth: I don't have to update IE anymore because I have Firefox?
    Myth. It's still installed, and you can't get rid of it. Additionally, some software will use it regardless of your preferred settings. IE still needs to be updated when there's an update to keep you safe and to let certain software continue to work.

  25. #50
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,722
    Thanks for the info! I don't have office and don't know what streets & trips are. LOL
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.