Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Iron on batting >

Iron on batting

Iron on batting

Old 11-18-2006, 12:38 PM

Has anyone used iron on batting? I'm wondering how well it works and what the pros and cons are. Hope someone can help me. Thanks.
Old 11-18-2006, 07:39 PM

Hi Minda, I have used fusible batting and liked it because then the pieced top and the backing can be ironed together and they don't slip as I machine quilted. I am very new to quilting so don't have much experience but have made a couple of wall quilts and have also quilted some stitchery. I kind of wonder how it will wash but once quilted maybe that isn't an issue. Anyway, that's my take on it.
Old 11-19-2006, 06:13 AM

I have used fabric glue a dot here and there helps, and you can pull it apart if you have to.......
Old 11-20-2006, 01:51 PM

I really like the spray adhesive to hold the batting in place. It can be repositioned without much effort, and holds until I get through quilting even a big quilt. The needle resists going through the fabric only so slightly as to be barely noticable.
Old 11-20-2006, 08:45 PM

I Like the iron on batting better then the spray adhesive, it also can be repositioned if needed. I have made T-shirt quilts and the iron on can be trouble, if the t-shirts have a rubberie design ...melts.
Old 11-21-2006, 05:00 AM

I haven't tried iron on batting but I have used the spray but still basted. I wonder how it would work if you didn't baste? I'm sure it would be fine for hand quilting but I'm wondering about machine quilting. Does anyone else quilt on a regular machine on a regular table? I just wonder if it is supposed to be such a hassel or if I'm doing something wrong.
Old 11-21-2006, 08:36 AM
Boo

I totally agree that machine quilting with a shortarm machine on the dining room table is a hassle. One of the main reasons that things go wrong, is the weight of the quilt vs the height of the machine. Gravity fights you every step of the way.