Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Hand quilting questions >

Hand quilting questions

Hand quilting questions

Old 11-11-2014, 04:34 AM

Default Hand quilting questions

Ok I'm fairly new to quilting I'm still working on hand quilting my first quilt. I am looking for something that might be available in Japan that would help protect the finger under the quilt. Unfortunately in the area I've been in I have not been able to find any leather thimbles in any of the craft stores in about a two hour radios.
Old 11-11-2014, 04:55 AM
Power Poster

Have you check online with quilt stores that carry thimbles in Japan?? There should be somewhere in Japan that have what you need since they do a lot of quilting.
Old 11-11-2014, 05:05 AM
Power Poster

Clover is a brand of sewing notions that is made in Japan. Check their site for a dealer near you!
http://www.clover-mfg.com/
I would guess that they make at least 10 different styles of thimbles.
Old 11-11-2014, 05:11 AM

I live in China and buy my quilting supplies online. If I don't want to go with "made in China", the next best affordable option is Clover - "made in Japan"! It costs usually more than Chinese products but quality is much better - and it's still cheaper than the things made in USA. I know from my Japanese colleague that internet shopping is also big in Japan. I'm sure they sell quilting supplies! If you don't read Japanese, you might need a friend to help, though.
Old 11-12-2014, 12:19 AM

I have some clover products but you may be thinking of southern Japan. It is really difficult to get things threw the mail and a lot of places here do not have very much. Not all of the stores here even have thimbles, batting is a nightmare to find and ordering threw mail system I have found to take about 2-3 months. I have finally found a store that sells batting and cloth but the thimbles are really limited to one type. Is there something else I can do other then a leather thimble that is not going to kill my fingers?