Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Does anyone have a Brother 1034D Serger? >

Does anyone have a Brother 1034D Serger?

Does anyone have a Brother 1034D Serger?

Old 03-09-2015, 10:42 AM
mac

Question Does anyone have a Brother 1034D Serger?

I was looking at the Brother 1034D serger and was wondering if anyone else had one and if they liked it. Since it appears to be in my price range (about $200) I was thinking of buying one. Looking at reviews, several people mentioned that it is very loud when sewing, so much so, that someone suggested using ear plugs and I wasn't sure if they were kidding or not. Someone gave me their serger but it is so hard to thread that I gave up on using it, so basically I am still a novice.

If you have one is it?:

easy to use
easy to thread
does it do a nice edging for napkins
do you need to buy any other accessories that isn't included with the machine
are you satisfied with it for most serging projects
really loud when serging

Thank you, in advance, for your opinion.
mac
Old 03-09-2015, 12:14 PM
Power Poster

I bought a serger over two decades ago and never use it for quilting because the serge edge is so thick.
Old 03-09-2015, 01:05 PM

I have the latest serger that Brother has and its wonderful. I use it for everything, from clothing, decrotive table runners, kids purses, clothing and quilting. It will come with a few feet at least. I think its one of the air thread ones so yes, it'll be easy to thread. You tube has lots of videos on it.
Old 03-09-2015, 01:50 PM

For easier threading tie your new threads on and pull them through, I always do this and all you have to thread is the needle......
Old 03-09-2015, 02:31 PM

Default I jusr bought mine