Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Sewing straight 1/4 inch seams >

Sewing straight 1/4 inch seams

Sewing straight 1/4 inch seams

Old 03-21-2015, 04:59 PM

Question Sewing straight 1/4 inch seams

Hi there! I am very new to quilting and sewing...just took a beginners class in October and loved it. I have done a few projects since, such as table runners and small wall hangings, but I am continually frustrated by my lines. When I sew two pieces of fabric together (the most basic thing), it seems like one end of the seam is a little wider than the other. I have tried using the needle plate guide or the 1/4" foot for guidance but neither works. I am so frustrated because it really throws things off and makes some lines look curved. Any hints, tips or tricks would be so very appreciated!
Thank you!
~Christine
Old 03-21-2015, 05:02 PM

Don't look at the needle. Just look where you are going. Keep it up. It will come as you practice. Don't get discouraged.

Last edited by barny; 03-21-2015 at 05:04 PM.
Old 03-21-2015, 05:08 PM

Use a stiletto to hold down the last edge as you come to it so your fabric stays straight. A lot of it is just practice too == the more you do it the better you are.
Old 03-21-2015, 05:19 PM

I've been quilting for a while and struggled with the skinny to fat to skinny 1/4'"seam. Recently I had an "AHA" moment. The sewing machine I use most of the time, has a "slow, medium, & fast speed". I love sewing fast but wasn't accurate. I decided to try the "medium". Wow! What a difference. I only watch the inside of my foot, never the needle.

I, also, did one other thing. I use a see through foot, that has plastic on the center and have moved my needle so that running the fabric under the right (harp) side edge of the foot, as I am sitting looking at the machine, produces a consistent 1/4" seam. It is the most accurate I have ever been.
Old 03-21-2015, 05:22 PM