Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums >
  • Main
  • Embroidery Hoops >
  • Embroidery Hoops

• Embroidery Hoops

Old 09-16-2015, 04:11 PM

Default Embroidery Hoops

How many embroidery hoops do you have and what sizes are they? I am fairly new to using the embroidery unit of my machine and was wondering what size of hoops people found that they used the most. I am surprised at how expensive they are.
    Old 09-16-2015, 04:32 PM

I use my 8x8 and my 6x6 the most. I think I used my 4x4 twice in the 5 years I've had my machine.
    Old 09-16-2015, 04:34 PM
    Power Poster

I have 3 for th 5x7 designs and 3 for the 4 x 4.
    and yes. very over priced, but they have us over a barrel on this
    Old 09-16-2015, 05:31 PM
    Gay

I enjoy making embroidered quilts and no longer use the 4x4 hoop, mostly the 5x7 and larger. I have a Brother 3000 with a sewing area of 7x11", and bought the 14"square hoop set-up from Hoop-it-all so I could embroider large blocks. It's really good as it can be turned to use all 4 sides, where most brands can only be used on 2 sides. Also, it doesn't have to be 'fixed' to the machine in the middle of the sides, (slides back and forwards) enabling sewing almost to the frame edge.
    Recently bought a pre-loved Pfaff CV, and also got the larger square 'Grand' hoop for it. The large hoops are great for doing cushions and those big blocks, without having to re-hoop.
    If you're looking at buying an embroidery machine, it will come with the necessary hoops, except for some specially purposed ones. So decide what you want to do with it beforehand, as many have been trading in the cheaper small machines for larger hooped ones.
    Old 09-16-2015, 05:42 PM
    Banned

I have 3 machines and use all of the hoops. I even bought the small(2x2) hoop separately for my first machine because I do a lot of little designs on my GDs tops and dresses. The kidlets love watching the magic machines make something for them.

Cari
    Old 09-16-2015, 08:52 PM