Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Hexie question >

Hexie question

Hexie question

Old 10-22-2016, 12:58 PM

Default Hexie question

I'm wondering if anyone has tried the mylar templates for EPP? I saw a GFG on pinterest where they only tacked the corners but did not sew to the paper and I'm thinking mylar (or a template plastic) would work in the same manner preventing having to continually buy more as with paper pieces. Also they can maybe be ironed so as to make a crease, then take out the template and use starch to iron the edges down and maybe zig zag on the mahine. I'm thinking of trying this with large hexies to use for a backing where I join seams. Does anyone have any thoughts on the matter? I've never used this type of plastic before and don't know what would work or not work with it. Thanks!
Old 10-22-2016, 01:03 PM
Power Poster

If you want to iron on the plastic, they would need to be heat resistant or the plastic will shrink.
Old 10-22-2016, 01:20 PM

I haven't used them but I'm interested in the feedback you receive. Where have you seen them?
Old 10-22-2016, 02:07 PM
Power Poster

Just a note here. You don't sew through the paper when doing EPP. Just catch the corners as you fold the seam allowance over whatever template you use. When you join the pieces together you just catch the fold with a whip stitch or ladder stitch. There is no need to sew to the paper. Paper can be reused several times before it wears out.

Using mylar is a good? and will be looking for an answer to this.
peace
Old 10-22-2016, 02:26 PM

I have used plastic pieces instead of paper for making tumbling blocks (60 degrees diamond pieces)- and I just tacked the intersections. I bought them from Brandy's Mylar Pieces. They are wonderful! But too expensive for me to use them for hexagons - I needed too many of them.
Old 10-22-2016, 04:39 PM