Hello Everyone

Old 05-13-2024, 09:40 AM

Smile Hello Everyone

Hello all, my name is Dale (a male, not a Dale Evans..lol) and i live in Canton Texas home to First Trades Day.. "The largest area Flea Market still running" once a month anyway. I'm very new to quilting, and being retired and no car I am at home a lot needless to say. I saw a sewing group at the church I attend and decided to go, as I do a little sewing here and there at now. HA, this group is a full fledged quilting group ministry that makes quilts for needy and those that need to be warm. I love serving people, so i decided to keep going and I was hooked after one group. I was So hooked I bought a new Brother XR9550 computerized quilting sewing machine and it's already made my life easier. As I've been learning I google questions and guess who's site comes up more than 50% of the time with answers to my questions, "QuiltingBoard Forums" site :-) I really love my new machine and don't I know a lot (yet :-D) but I'm so thankful to have been allowed to join and look forward to learning and growing in my skills and knowledge.
Old 05-13-2024, 10:02 AM

Welcome from Ohio! I think you will find everyone very helpful and full of information. We look forward to seeing what you are working on!
Old 05-13-2024, 11:11 AM
Power Poster

Welcome to the group!
Old 05-13-2024, 12:33 PM

Welcome Dale/Wils! While usually in the minority there are plenty of men who quilt for various reasons. One of my good friends went back home because things were falling apart on the old family homestead. He had time on his hands, very little money but trunks of old clothes in the attic and he decided if I could quilt, so could he. Being cold was another motivator. Sounds like you found a good group in RL and we are here for you virtually. We all start some where/time and end some where/time. Hope you spend some time with us -- just jump right into the questions or conversations.
Old 05-13-2024, 12:36 PM
Power Poster