Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 6 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: Joseph's Coat

Joseph's Coat

I was reading this thread and went and did a research for Georgia. I will do a small tut here to help her out.

Pattern

If you would like to try this quilt, go to the thread above and download the pdf that I uploaded.

Now here is the beginning of the block. I have never done this one before so I will post as I go along.

First, gather up all different fabrics or go to the link posted in the thread above to look at her quilt. Cut six wedges and six background.

I mark the centers of each one by just folding over and pressing a crease. There are three creases in the background and one crease for the middle of the wedges.

Pin the middle of one wedge to the middle of one background and pin through the 1/4 inch seam allowance at both ends.

Sew three wedge to one background, two wedges to 4 backgrounds and one wedge to one background (pics below).

I just set them together to see if they are ok. I will have to make at least three more blocks before deciding on the sewing together.

I will not square them off as I will leave them rounded at the edge.
    Attached Images Attached Images Click to view large image  Click to view large image  Click to view large image  Click to view large image  Click to view large image  Click to view large image  Click to view large image  Click to view large image 

Sew with the concave on top. Since this is a bias, it should go together well. I used my purple Thang to pull the fabric over the convex. My background is a very lite tone with roses. I will use many colors as this Joseph's coat.

Power Poster
    ​Nice tutorial.

Rosy,Thanks for this tute. It's so much easier than the other one. So nice for you to do this ,Blessings