Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Joseph's Coat block >

Joseph's Coat block

Joseph's Coat block

Old 09-19-2010, 08:02 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
quiltinggrandmaca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 702
Default

I thought I would get started at the blocks that were offered in the fabshophop. I am having trouble with the Joseph's Coat block. When I cut the pieces to the sizes that are on the pattern, the "flat geese" block is too large for the straight piece that is put between the two "flat geese" pieces. I was wondering if anyone else has had problems with this, or am I doing something wrong here.
quiltinggrandmaca is offline  
Old 09-19-2010, 08:07 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
Colbaltjars62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Gladstone, Oregon by way of Washington(the state)
Posts: 1,018
Default

Did you add your 1/4 seam allowance?
Just Devils advocate here. :-)
I have forgotten that before when working with a pattern. :|
Colbaltjars62 is offline  
Old 09-19-2010, 08:12 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
quiltinggrandmaca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 702
Default

The seam allowances are on the pattern. And the strip that joins the two is just cut from a bigger strip and they give the measurement as to what size to cut it. It really has me baffled.
quiltinggrandmaca is offline  
Old 09-19-2010, 08:29 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Colbaltjars62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Gladstone, Oregon by way of Washington(the state)
Posts: 1,018
Default

Oh ok.
Just recall doing this before and for the life of me couldn't figure out what I did. LOL Duh.....
I hope you get it figured out. Let us know when you do.
Good Luck :lol:
Colbaltjars62 is offline  
Old 09-19-2010, 09:13 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Baysidegal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 966
Default

You know, I think they found a mistake in that one...go back to your list and download it again...I think I received an email to do that..
Baysidegal is offline  
Old 09-19-2010, 09:14 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
MistyMarie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,388
Default

They updated the pattern on 9/9 because of the error.
MistyMarie is offline  
Old 09-19-2010, 10:36 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
quiltinggrandmaca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 702
Default

I actually had the revised pattern and still couldn't get it to work out. What I did was sew my flat flying geese together with a 1 1/2 inch strip instead of a 1 1/4 inch strip and then it seemed to work much better at least the blocks are all the same size now. Those flat flying geese were too big somehow and the revised pattern the difference was in the triangles for the corner blocks. I don't know, maybe it was just me but I found that one a challenge.
quiltinggrandmaca is offline  
Old 09-19-2010, 10:40 AM
  #8  
Super Member
 
bjnicholson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cleveland OH
Posts: 3,220
Default

You know, those darn fat flying geese will get you every time! (Of course, what I know about flying geese you could stick in your eye and shut it!)
bjnicholson is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Rebecca VLQ
Main
6
12-25-2011 07:37 AM
mtkoldra
Pictures
20
04-17-2011 10:09 AM
cacarte
Main
3
04-15-2011 01:00 PM
The Bag Lady
Main
4
05-22-2010 12:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.