Cam Shaft hangs on left cycle

Old 01-04-2014, 09:15 AM

Default Cam Shaft hangs on left cycle

I have a brother that I have been tinkering with for about 3 months. My OSMG has also been working on it. We finally got the cam shaft to turn fairly well except when it gets to a place where it has to move to the left it hangs up. I have oiled it repeatedly on the cam shaft but I was wondering if I need to grease the part that has a gear to it. Also it appears that the cam selection knob is not lined up with the stitches but of course I can't tell that for sure because I can't get the cam shaft to work properly. Maybe part of the problem may be because the cam selection knob is not lined up properly. I just can't figure out what else to do. Maybe someone on the board has some info for me.
Attached Thumbnails brother-cam-mechanism-hangs-left-side.jpg   brother-cam-shaft-hangs-left-cycle.jpg   brother-gears-should-have-grease.jpg   brother-selection-cam-gear-have-grease.jpg   brother-cam-selection-knob-settings-off.jpg  

Old 01-04-2014, 11:18 AM

Gears get grease, especially metal gears.

I would use Tri-Flow oil and concentrate on the ZZ linkage to the left of the cam follower. Any thing that hangs up in the linkage will hang up the machine.

It also needs much more cleaning inside. There lots of old varnished oil on every thing. That alone will cause the mechanism to jam up. Especially the ZZ parts.

Joe
Old 01-04-2014, 02:40 PM

Yup, I also see areas of old varnish that could easily be gumming up the works.
Old 01-04-2014, 03:27 PM
Power Poster