Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Damaged Featherweight Case repair? >

Damaged Featherweight Case repair?

Damaged Featherweight Case repair?

Old 02-08-2014, 10:21 PM

Question Damaged Featherweight Case repair?

My Featherweight case's side was damaged in shipping. I will be able to wood glue it and clamp and it will be fine.
Due to previous wear damage there are some bare spots of wood scattered about. I would like to recover the case, but am unsure as to the removal of the previous factory covering. How should I go about it. Do I dampen it and peel if off? I have looked at some of the restored cases done by members here and I'm very impressed with what they have done. But I don't recall if they removed the type of paper-like cover that is on the FW case.

I don't want it to looks like I went at it with a hatchet.

Thanks for any info...

Judy
Old 02-08-2014, 11:54 PM

I am not an expert on FW cases here ( maybe someone can chime in) but I know that you can easily peel it. Just do it ever so slowly and carefully. I know it's strong and made of plastic kind of fabric.
Old 02-09-2014, 03:15 AM

Maybe steam? It's a bit like wallpaper... Interested to hear from someone who's actually done it too
Old 02-09-2014, 03:26 AM
Power Poster

I'm not sure either - I do know wallpaper comes off walls with fabric softener or vinegar BUT it could effect the wood and the glue joints of the case - sssssssooooooooooooo I am interested in this topic, too.
Old 02-09-2014, 06:54 AM

My question would be what to use as the new covering? New inside?

Will be watching this thread, as I have a still stinky after doing everything possible case.
Old 02-09-2014, 07:19 AM