Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Does 301 go into 71??? No, it's not a math problem??

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Wine Country, California
    Posts
    37

    Does 301 go into 71??? No, it's not a math problem??

    I have a 301 machine and recently purchased a 71 cabinet. I also bought a 301 cradle to get it to work. I posted a couple of weeks ago...that it didn't work. I bought another cradle...this one with hardware included. After wrestling with it all morning....it STILL doesn't work!!! I am guessing that my 71 cabinet didn't hold a 301 in its past life. Is there anyway to get this to work??? Attached please see the pics of the cabinet. There doesn't appear to be any screw holes from earlier brackets. Any advice would be appreciated.....before I take to the cabinet with a buzz saw!!! I keep trying to post photos....but they are too big. Clearly, I am as 'not so good' with sewing machine cabinets as I am with computer photos!!!

  2. #2
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,552
    It should fit. Here's a link to the 71 cabinet and which machines fit into it. http://www.ismacs.net/singer_sewing_...ny/71_cab.html

    It sounds like someone has messed with it though. There should be prior hinges that the 301 cradle hinges fit right into and screw in. If I were to guess it's almost like someone already took a buzz saw to it already, to enlarge the opening:<

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Wine Country, California
    Posts
    37
    Here are the photos of the cabinet. Dies it make sense to any of you?? The dark dots on the front cabinet panel are felt cushions. Thanks for your help!!
    Name:  IMG_0406.jpg
Views: 381
Size:  14.0 KBName:  IMG_0404.jpg
Views: 412
Size:  1.44 MBName:  IMG_0405.jpg
Views: 410
Size:  1.58 MB

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Wine Country, California
    Posts
    37
    I am now thinking about putting my 201 in this cabinet and not doing any mods on the cabinet. Any other suggestions
    ??

  5. #5
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,552
    I don't see why your 301 doesn't fit?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Wine Country, California
    Posts
    37
    When the cradle is lifted higher than the front panel, they don't fit together. They meet at an apex (if that is the proper term for the tip of a triangle....as I remember it from high school geometry??) well above the level surface of the cabinet. I was initially thinking that by getting the cabinet hardware, that would fit in the front brackets (the free side) of the cradle. I am guessing that if I shave off about a quarter inch of the front part of the panel, between the two curved sides, that might work. Although, I hate to do that, as I would guess that was not how it was designed. I hope I am making sense.

  7. #7
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,552
    Could you take a photo of how the machine sits in the cradle and hits the table wrong?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Wine Country, California
    Posts
    37
    Here are two photos. Ther first one shows the machine with the panel flat. The second one shows how the panel and machine meet.Name:  IMG_0409.jpg
Views: 376
Size:  1.75 MB
    Attached Images Attached Images Click to view large image 

  9. #9
    Super Member Candace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Outer Space
    Posts
    9,552
    I think I know what your problem is. It looks like your hardware cut out in the back, doesn't have a notch for the cradle. Here is a photo of a 301 table that is in poor condition, so I sold the cradle and am using the table now to hold stuff in the garage. See the notch? Otherwise your cradle will hit the back side of the table and not allow it to sit flush.
    Attached Images Attached Images Click to view large image 

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Wine Country, California
    Posts
    37
    I just looked. It looks like it is cut out. The machine sits flush from the back but not on the front. I thought I saw on the ISMAC website that the 71 cabinet also fits a 201. I just dragged my 201 out...but it looks shorter that the 301. It doesn't look like it will fit either. Could each 71 cabinet have a particular insert based on the machine it was sold for??? I really appreciate your input. Thanks again.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.