Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: New Treadle belt

  1. #1
    Junior Member ljfox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    296

    New Treadle belt

    Where do I buy a new treadle belt? My MIL just gave me her grandmothers White treadle and I don't know a thing about treadles. I so want to play with it but the belt is old so it has stretched and needs to be replaced.

  2. #2
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    18,257
    You can order them but an old singer repair shop might have one. Someone on QB said aquarium hose works also. If you go to www.quiltville.blogspot.com Bonnie Hunter collects old machines and she has a list of her sources for parts on her site under the tabs at the top of the page.

  3. #3
    Super Member mlmack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    1,155
    Any local sewing machine shop likely sells them. That's where I bought mine. A search for "treadle belt" will likely return several online sources as well.

    Also, you can probably undo the metal clip, cut the old belt down some, and reattach the clip. Just make sure to cut the end without the metal clip.
    Mark

  4. #4
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,368
    I purchased mine from a local dealer.

  5. #5
    Super Member J Miller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    6,373
    My LSMG has a bunch of them. However if you don't have a LSMG you can order them from Sew-Classic: { http://www.shop.sew-classic.com/ }

    Joe

  6. #6
    KLO
    KLO is offline
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North Central, NC
    Posts
    1,556
    Blog Entries
    26
    Lucky you. Now, when you go to install the new belt, please be very careful about putting the hole in the new belt. I was using an ice pick to do that and it slipped and stabbed me in the meaty part of my hand just below the thumb. Talk about feeling dumb. I was just about to stop as I was thinking this was not a smart way to do the hole (Yes, I was holding the dang belt in one hand and the ice pick in the other) when it happened. Thankfully the puncture was not too bad and my tetanus shot was up to date. So, just be careful, please!

  7. #7
    Senior Member DanofNJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Jersey Shore
    Posts
    528
    I get mine from Ebay, they are fine. I use a dremel with a tiny tiny drill bit and it works just fine. Yes, you can injure yourself if not careful. Keep in mind that the belt doesn't need to be super tight..just enough to turn the handwheel.

  8. #8
    Senior Member manicmike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    981
    Quote Originally Posted by KLO View Post
    I was using an ice pick to do that and it slipped and stabbed me in the meaty part of my hand just below the thumb.
    I've had to install three so far and hadn't thought of putting an ice pick through my hand. I have stuck a needle into my finger at least four times, though. There has to be a leather punch specifically designed to put a hole in these slippery little suckers.
    My Singers: 12k (1883), VS2 Painted Red and Cream Roses and Daisies (1891), VS2 Victorian (1891), Improved Family (1886), 15k (1917), 27 Tiffany (1900), 28k (1911), 66 Lotus (1922), 96k41 (1947), 96k41 (1949), 201k (1953), 206k11 (1950), 222k (1959), 306k, 2x320k2(1959), 411g
    Others: Empisal (1960s), Bernina Record 530-2, Pfaff 60, Pfaff 260, '50s Myer Singer 15 clone, Lemair (1960s)

  9. #9
    Junior Member Reba'squilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    South East Michigan...at the bottom of the thumb!
    Posts
    163
    I bought a belt at Yoders in shipshawana when we were there. My DH installed it for me...yes, he did poke his finger with the awl!! I understand there is a tool that you use to install. We do not have one. So now that it is installed I am learning to treadle. It is hard!! I have a lot of respect for the early pioneer sewers!

  10. #10
    KLO
    KLO is offline
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North Central, NC
    Posts
    1,556
    Blog Entries
    26
    Yes, you are right. There is a specific tool for punching that hole in the belt. I don't know what they cost but if I ever have to fit another treadle belt, you can bet I will be looking for one!!! Or ..... I will get my DH to do it as he has lots of tools and can figure out how best to do just about anything.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.