View Single Post
Old 05-31-2010, 12:32 PM
dsb38327

Hi there, I am the person who suggested you make a post so we can all put our heads together on this. I notice someone else was having the same issue with theirs. A quick call to the customer service number might not hurt just in case they are aware of a common defect.
If you want to do some trouble shooting I am game and
if I don’t say some of this right please don’t take offense. I am not an expert, I am a learner. Someone helped me and I would like to pay it forward if I can. I have good intentions.
I have noticed with the EX660 and the SQ9000 the plastic flipper on the bobbin thread guide is ?pliable?. It seems to move (give) very easily. For the beauty of the things the machine is designed to do I am willing to coddle it if necessary.
…………………………………………………………….
It sounds as if the thread on your SQ9000 may be binding.
Let's see if we can isolate the problem to the thread part of the machines operation.
The default stitch is fine. Is the utility stitch light lit and do you have the J presser foot on?
Remove the presser foot and probably the needle so you can get to the needle plate. (page 6 #9 in the manual). Remember how nice and flat the needle plate is before you take it off. You want it to look this nice and flat when you put it back on. I have to use a quarter to get the screws out of the needle plate. Remove the needle plate and clean anything you can see. I use old (clean) makeup brushes, (art) paint brushes from the toy section of the dept store, whatever you have. Brush away any lint you see and look for a stray thread maybe.
When you feel pretty good about it put the needle plate and presser foot back on.
…………………………………………………..
There is a good chance your needle is bent by now, let's put in a new needle if you have one. 3 more 75/11s are in that little foil packet that came with the machine.
Take the thread off, the bobbin out, and the bobbin case out.