View Single Post
Old 09-14-2010, 06:14 AM
Gerbie

I have to add my two cents and more about my DH. He is on his computer a lot and does yard work now more than in the past. He is very handy around the house, electrical, plumbing, and especially electronically. He is an accountant and is currently the assistant County Auditor, after retiring after 33 years from Pennzoil Sulphur Co..
He knows I am going to do my thing, sewing, quilting, and Church activities. After all I have been doing these things for the 40 years we've been married, he has never questioned any of these or complained or even commented about what I have spent. I am not a wild spender so that helps. I am a retired school teacher, and am not one to just sit around. I have always contributed fully to the financial funds, and our children's higher levels of education. We are now empty nesters.
He built me a large thread holder a few years back, I haven't told him that it is really too heavy to use that much and I can't hang it on the wall. I still have thread on it, so he doesn't know the diff. lol Last fall he made some of the wooden quilt hangers, that Nancy's Notions and others advertise for wall hangings. I didn't want to pay their prices, and a friend had, so I borrowed hers for a pattern. We went to Lowe's and he found just what he wanted to make them, hardware and wood. He spent a lot of time cutting them out and hand sanding them. They look just like the ones in the catalog.