View Single Post
Old 12-04-2008, 06:01 AM
Chele

1. What is your name and where are you from?
Michele from Orlando, Florida

2. How, when, and where did you learn to quilt?
I started playing around almost two years ago.

3. Why do you quilt? (tradition, expression, for family, etc)
It's a great creative outlet and learning process.

4. Have you taught anyone else to quilt? No.

5. Are there differences in quilting from when you first learned and now? If so, how do you feel about this transition? I am self taught, so the process of learning new techniques is a nice transition.

6. Are you part of any quilting groups/communities? The Quilting Board

7. Do you feel that quilting is a part of your heritage? If so why? Yes. My great grandmothers quilted.

8. What type of feeling do you get out of quilting? Why do you enjoy it?
I love figuring out a pattern, making progress on a project, and the excitement of starting something new.

9. What different type of quilts have you made? What was the most difficult, easiest? Do you have a favourite style?
I've dabbled in patchwork and applique. I find the actual quilting process difficult. My favorite quilts are scrappy quilts.

10. Who do you make quilts for? Family and friends.

11. When quilting, what happens if you make a mistake? Seam ripper or trash can.

12. What is your favourite feature about a quilt? Color.

13. What makes a quilt different from other blankets to you? The work that went into making it.

14. Do you feel that contemporary quilting has lost some value? If so, why? Or do you feel it has gained value, and again, why?
I think contemporary quilting has gained in value. More people appreciate it as an art form.

15. Does the history of quilting mean anything to you? If so, what do you know about its history?
I love reading anything about the history of quilts. Quilting has a vast and interesting history.

16. Do you have anything you would like others to know about quilting?
It's addictive.