View Single Post
Old 12-04-2008, 10:13 AM
Cathe

Originally Posted by pompeii
If anyone would like to provide me with some information, feel free to email your responses or private message me or answer me in this board.

1. What is your name and where are you from? Catherine from Burlington, WI
2. How, when, and where did you learn to quilt? 24 years ago, I learned from a magazine. We were stationed in Germany at the time.
3. Why do you quilt? (tradition, expression, for family, etc) I like quilts and it's profitable for me.
4. Have you taught anyone else to quilt? I have been teaching quiltmaking for 16 years.
5. Are there differences in quilting from when you first learned and now? If so, how do you feel about this transition? Yes, there are many differences. Rotary cutters have revolutionized quiltmaking even more than the sewing machine did. More quilts are being machine quilted, which enables us to make more quilts.
6. Are you part of any quilting groups/communities? I have been, but I am not currently part of a group. I do use online communities, including this one.
7. Do you feel that quilting is a part of your heritage? If so why? NO, not really. My mother taught me to sew clothes when I was very young (age 7 or so), but she never quilted and we have no heirloom quilts.
8. What type of feeling do you get out of quilting? Why do you enjoy it? I enjoy the math! I like drafting a quilt and creating the cutting instructions, pattern and yardage, etc. It keeps my brain active and it gives occupation to my hands when I have to sit down.