Old 03-01-2011, 06:12 PM
candi

I was very new to the board, very new to quilting, just finished my first quilt that took me a year, just purchased my first sewing machine and getting hooked on quilting, I posted a photo of a pink quilt top that was my second quilt top, first one I did by myself without class. Of course you don't remember it! I didn't until recently. After I did that quilt, we were moving temporarily to Hawaii and I left my sewing machine and quilting behind for a while, when I got back into it April of last year, I had totally forgot about that top, started this and finished that, and then a couple of months ago came across it, and I decided to finish it! I guess that would be my only UFO!

Upon looking at it, the bad sewing kept jumping at me, not that I am an expert now, but back then, I really struggled with the sewing and keeping a consistent seam, my points weren't matching, and I had some fraying seams, I decided that it was only 9 blocks, a small quilt and it was worth redoing! OK, call me crazy but I did rip the quilt apart to HST (which BTW I did by cutting and sewing triangles back then), squared up the HSTs (something I didn't know about back then) and then resewed it together, trimmed borders and added those and wallah,not perfect by any means, but much more pleasing to my eyes! Being a small top,it didn't take that long, and I was very satisfied with the sense of accomplishment and that I really did improve, I am learning things! It is wonderful! :mrgreen:

I also enjoyed quilting this quilt very much, I am actually beginning to enjoy the quilting part a lot more now. I did many straight lines, a bit of SID, and some curved lines around the pink squares. My taste did change, because I probably wouldn't have picked these fabrics now, but I do love how it turned out, even my binding looks decent on this one, lol.