View Single Post
Old 05-20-2011, 10:19 PM
virgwid

I am new to quilting. Well, made a couple things about 25 years ago, but haven't done any since then. I have been collecting fabric on sale since nov/dec. I have some really gorgeous fabrics, mostly batiks and landscapes. I haven't done anything with them yet because the sewing machine scares me to death. I have never had a sewing machine I have gotten along with yet. This one is my mothers that she bought several years ago when she retired and even after lessons couldn't ever figure out enough to use. I looked it up on google, and it is rated very, very highly by quilters, so thats good. I also remember having trouble accurately using a rotary cutter, so I bought an accuquilt. Sitting in the original packing box since feb. I have also had a block about not wanting to cut into such pretty fabric. What if I screw it up?

Well, today I put my big girl panties on and started on my first quilt. It is going to be a really really simple flip flop quilt that reminds me of a recent trip to Hawaii. Nine pairs of flip flops, each pair made out of a fabric that has a specific memory behind it. Gonna applique (well, fuse), to sand colored fabric. Turns out I didn't buy enough of that, so I had to order some. Got a really pretty Hoffman batik, which is great, as when I got the original fabric I had never seen any of Hoffman, so instead of liking it alot, I love it. Worked out for the best, but a little discouraging as I couldn't put the flip flops on today.