View Single Post
Old 07-02-2011, 03:23 AM
kaykwilts

ok...I guess I will share a story or two. I usually don't share much of this type of stuff because people think I am nuts...but here goes.

Back in the eighties and nineties, I worked as a midwife, delivering babies at home. During my apprenticeship, the primary midwife and I were delivering a baby for a young couple outside the (then small town) of Kaufman. This baby was born with a hole in her heart (ok, please folks, let's NOT start a conversation about the safety of homebirth!!! That's not relevant to my story!!) This was before the days of sonograms being used routinely. Anyway, neither I nor the primary had oxygen with us. While waiting for the ambulance to arrive, the primary took the baby to the living room to wait. The father was on the front porch. I was in the bedroom with the mom. The father reported looking up the street and seeing a young man dressed in a coveralls walking up the street toward the house. He was carrying an oxygen tank. He stopped and asked the father if this was the house where the baby had been born. He said yes. Without another word, this "man" walked up to the house, and into the living room. He set the tank down next to the midwife and asked her if she knew how to turn it on. She said yes, but could he as she had her hands full. He turned on the tank, handed her the pediatric size O2 mask, smiled and told her all would be well, and walked back out the door. He didn't speak to the father but just walked up the street, and vanished (according to the father). Shortly thereafter, the ambulance arrived. The baby was transported to Parkland, and was sent back home after a short stay for the repair of a small hole in her heart. But that same day, when the midwife returned to get me (we had arrived in the same car) she asked where the O2 tank went...I asked what O2 tank? Needless to say, the tank was missing. None of the neighbors reported to us that they owned an O2 tank, nor did anyone