Thread: Have to ask
View Single Post
Old 09-23-2011, 08:49 AM
mpeters1200

I have 2 and hope to be acquiring the 3rd and final one for my collection. I prefer vintage machines for 2 reasons.

Firstly, sentimental. I inherited my mom's FW. I've never used her before and I inherited her before I started quilting. She needs a new bobbin case, but is otherwise in perfect condition. I hope to have granddaughters someday that would like to have it.

Secondly, it's economical. I am married and while hubby works FT, I only work PT. We have 3 young children, 2 with various abilities; so we don't have a lot of extra money or a way to save or anything. When I realized I couldn't quilt on my DSM because of it's TINY throat area, I started searching for a machine to accommodate FMQ or straight line quilting on a king size quilt.

Janome has a new one and the dealer here was willing to sell it to me for a grand. Babylock has a newer edition of their professional quilter and with a throat plate of the size I needed (at least a 9" x 6"), their cost was 1500.00. All the dealers around talked about their new machines and their computerized stuff. I am about as computer dumb as they come and I couldn't see spending 2 months rent on a machine. Hubby quickly shot down the idea too. I had given up entirely on my search for a large throat machine when I went into my machine shop to set up my Janome for her annual maintenance. I met my "new" machine there. I bought her with 2 boxes of accessories and a nice, original manual for $200.00. She is a 1954 Singer 66. Her throat measurements are 9 1/2" x 6, just a shade bigger than the new fangled machines.