View Single Post
Old 06-06-2012, 09:37 AM
roguequilter

beth & jeff gutcheon's "the quilt design workbook" was among my first quilt books when i embarked upon my quilt journey. in fact most of the books i found in the mid 80's when i started were more design/concept & technical focus on technique. then along came the artists. i was and still am in awe, but i am not an artist. then along comes all the books full of traditionsl patterns rendered in modern fabs w/the artistic flare of professional designers, wiyh patterns included, of course. so we learned to copy instead design as the gutcheons & gwen & joe et al had attemted to encourage us to do in thier early books.