Thread: Sewing Straight
View Single Post
Old 11-24-2012, 07:49 AM
coffeebreak

Originally Posted by schnurke View Post
I am a newbie, with a 1979 Singer 7110, making basic square patch pillow covers and quilts. I have a mentor who is very talented but has never taught anyone to do this before. She also has limited time. I feel uncomfortable with the way that I am sewing my square patches together. I know this is pretty dang easy to do compared to other things you could do with a machine, but like I said, I'm new My mentor says I am doing a good enough job, but I know that I could do better and expect that it could feel more natural to me.

I don't get how to guide without pushing or pulling or put perhaps too much pressure down with the left hand. And I am curious to find out what some of you people do with your right hands. I have picked up, at another forum, that people do these things differently.

I never took sewing in junior or high school, I'm afraid.

I just feel uncomfortable at the machine and am looking for tips on what my hands should be doing. Of course, maybe I just need practice