View Single Post
Old 10-27-2009, 08:07 AM
rivka
Banned

I'm no expert on machine frame quilting, but I have been doing a lot of research on it over the past few months, because I purchased a system myself just recently. So I'll share what I know (and if anything is wrong, I'd appreciate correction from someone else :) )

Yes, the 15", etc., is the throat space (from needle to the end of the open space; effectively the length of the space to sew in). Your normal sewing machine is usually referred to as a "short arm" (when talking about using it on a frame), and most machines have a 7" throat, I believe -- even the 9" machines like the Juki TL98Q and the Janome 1600P are still called short arms (these are relatively inexpensive machines that can be used on a machine quilting frame). Anything above that, but less than 17" is usually referred to as a "mid arm" (although some manufacturers will still refer to them as long arms). Anything 17" and above is going to be a long arm, and is probably going to cost thousands and thousands of dollars.

The Bailey machines are a nice compromise -- they're big enough that you can do fairly large patterns, but still inexpensive enough that they're not completely out of one's price range. On my 15" (and with my specific frame set up), I can get about 12" of sewing range when I first start quilting...this decreases, of course, as the quilt is rolled up within the throat space. I still haven't done a full quilt yet; I'm still practicing, as I've only had the machine for a few weeks. So far I love it, though -- I'm much happier with it than I was with the Juki that I originally bought...but I wanted to do specific types of patterns which wouldn't be possible in the 9" throat of the Juki.