Old 04-01-2013, 08:21 AM
ansew

Default Good Price for Grace II Frame? + other questions

I have an opportunity to purchase the Gracie Frame II for $300(she paid $700) and 2 plastic patterns for $100(paid $240)--would $400 be a decent price for a set up like this or should I expect to get a better price?

I would be using a Juki 98Q for this frame which I already have. I know some of you already have this system or have had it in the past and would be interested in hearing the pros and cons/hints of what you have learned. I have read from many of you on this board and others that it is a pain to stop and roll every 4-5 inches. So---here are some questions and thoughts that have been going through my mind.

1. I've never done machine frame quilting before and don't know if I would enjoy it. Have done some FMQ, but I am far from being an expert and don't really enjoy wrestling with the quilt but that has been on a regular DSM, not the Juki.

2.Most of the quilts would be baby to queen size(up to 82-88" wide to 104-106" long). I would be interested in exploring pantograph edge to edge quilting. Has anybody ever done pantograph overall on their DSM? I've looked at the Golden Threads video on Youtube.

3. I do not have as of yet the grace speed control or stitch regulator. Is this something that would be helpful since I would just be starting out with frame quilting?

4. The quilts I would be making would be for charity/personal use/friends family. I have no interest in quilting for others.

I've thought maybe buying it at least for the baby size/lap/twin and continue to send out the larger size quilts--that way if I decide I don't like frame quilting, I can always try and resell it. I've also thought about saving pennies instead of purchasing this frame and try and get a longer harp(16-18") machine and getting a whole new or different system(probably used).