View Single Post
Old 06-27-2013, 01:34 PM
ArchaicArcane

Originally Posted by momto5 View Post
No help with the cats, but I do have three poodles who stay at home when I go somewhere, very happily, with their "come to my home" sitters. These folks are very good, but I can't remember if I've ever had to have them give meds or do anything radical to mine...but they surely would and they would do very well with it, I'm sure. Is there no one in your area who could do this? If they're professionals, as mine are, they can handle it all and you don't need to worry about it! Good luck!
The only one I know of formerly worked at the local (terrible) vet and she was fairly flighty even when just handling our billing. I'm not sure I'm that comfortable with her.

Originally Posted by auntpiggylpn View Post
I would ask your vet! The traveling might just be too much for that kitty! I know that at the vet clinic I worked at (I'm a vet tech) we would often get older and infirmed pets in for boarding. Does your vet offer boarding? If so, if anything untoward happened, your vet would be right there to treat. So much more is involved when you have a geriatric cat who has CKD. Also, cats who are stressed and not at home will often refuse to eat or drink. I'm concerned that if you are out on the road and this happens, your cat may require an IV bolus of fluids. This is really something you need to discuss with your vet, IMHO.