View Single Post
Old 07-20-2013, 09:03 AM
RedGarnet222
Power Poster

Warning ... I am not good at tutorials, so girls this is not a tutorial, just a scanned picture of the original pattern I used. Hopefully you know the basic way of putting together a stuffed toy. For really this is how I made this one. I cut out the patterns while they were folded in half. The legs are without a seam allowance, because I pin the pattern to the fabric and sew around it leaving an opening for turning and then I cut it out with the allowances, clipping the curves and V's pretty close. Then I did the embroidery hand work which you can see in the picture The eyes are felt, one larger as the background and one smaller for the pupil. Then I sewed the body leaving the openings I indicated on the pattern to insert the legs and turning. I creased the turned in seam allowance where the legs are to match front and back.

The legs are all one piece and padded with a cut to size piece of warm and white batting and then once turned and pressed, the details are sewn by machine to add the webbed feet and the outlined legs. They then are inserted after the body is turned and the head is partially stuffed, but you could cut two legs and sew them to the body that way if you wish.

I then stuffed the rest of the frog and hand sewed up the legs on either side to close up the frog. I know if the legs are sewn into the seam and a opening left somewhere else on the frog, it would be so much less work. But, this was a make up as I went kinda thing, remember?