Old 03-25-2014, 10:16 AM
asabrinao

Default I need office/sewing space in Austin, Texas this summer!

Hi, Fellow Quilters,

This is one of those "out there" questions and I don't suspect I'll have much luck, but you never know until you ask, right?

I'm a college professor in Ohio. My longtime fiance is a journalist in Austin, Texas (we're logistically challenged). I don't teach summers, so I'll be spending the summer with him in the lodestar state. Here's the thing: my visiting professorship at the college ends after next year and in order to qualify for a permanent job I NEED to finish my book (the old publish or perish thing will be my downfall, I swear…). In grad school, I discovered that sewing helped me concentrate (go figure!) and the way I work is to have my sewing machine (Juki 2010q, aka "Wilma") set up next to my writing stuff. I write 500 words, sew twenty minutes, etc. I get a lot more writing and sewing done that way. I'm working on a theory as to why it makes me more productive. I think it has something to do with exercising different parts of your brain (I worked at a bread bakery in graduate school).

Here's the problem: my fiancé has a roommate and a small apartment. When I spent time in Austin over the winter holiday, I tried working at his place but there were just too many distractions. A coffee shop wasn't any better (although I did get a lot of hand-piecing done). I think I'll be a lot more successful if I have my own work space over the summer. And, so, this is where I turn to you, dear quilters.

I'm looking to rent an office space this summer and here's what I'm hoping for:

1)
A "furnished" office space (be it an actual office or a guest room or a corner in your basement). By "furnished," I really mean a desk or table and a chair. If there are bookshelves and/or a couple of other side tables too, great. I can provide a folding table, if necessary.

2)
I don't need internet, but if it's there, great.

3)